Follow

What does "Bandwidth Exceeded" mean?

Bandwidth is a measure of the resources used to serve (display) media from your Photobucket account to 3rd party sites (like blogs, forums, etc). Bandwidth is not storage. The size of the image or video will increase the amount of bandwidth you use when you link out to other sites. Have you exceeded bandwidth? Click here to upgrade

Views of your photos directly on the Photobucket site does not use any bandwidth. Bandwidth is only used when the image is posted outside of Photobucket.

 

Examples of bandwidth usage:

-Lets say you have 100 photos that are 1MB in size each, and you are linking every single one of them out to your blog/website. 100 images at 1MB in size means that you are linking out just under 100MBs in data size for all those images. Those photos would need to be viewed 100 times a piece to reach 10GB bandwidth.

-If you only linked out 10 photos that are 1MB in size, those 10 photo would need to be viewed over 10,000 times before you would reach 10GB bandwidth. 

-If you had 10 videos on your blog/website that were 100MBs in size, that would equal out to just under 1GB in file size. If those videos were viewed 100 times total, you would reach 10GB bandwidth.

What happens when you reach the bandwidth limit?

overage.jpg

In order to link your photos outside of Photobucket, you will need to have a Plus 500 account.

If you upgrade to a Plus 500 account, you will no longer have to worry about the bandwidth exceeded message. Plus 500 accounts have unlimited bandwidth! Upgrading your account to a Plus 500 account will only remove that message from photos that are linked out from your upgraded account. It will not remove the bandwidth exceeded message from images that are linked out from another users account.


 

Was this article helpful?
856 out of 911 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk