Introducing Auto Backup for iPhone

The best way to automatically backup your photos and videos from your iPhone! 

Before we begin, here are a few important tips on how to backup successfully:

  • Turn off your iPhone's auto-lock. The app will need to remain open and running to upload media. To turn off auto-lock: go to your iPhone Settings > General > Auto-Lock  and select Never. Feel free to change this back after your first auto-backup.
  • Connect to a Wi-Fi network, especially if you're concerned about data-overages. 
  • Start charging your phone and set aside some time. If you have hundreds or thousands of images to backup, it may take a few hours. 

Now we're ready! After tapping Get Started, your pictures will be counted and queued for upload. This may take a few minutes. 



By default, your images will be auto-organized in your Mobile Uploads album. 


To change your Default Upload Folder, tap on the Photobucket menu button and then on your username at the bottom of the screen. Select Upload Settings. You can also access your Upload Settings from the Auto Backup screen by tapping on the gear in the upper right corner.

You will need to disable Auto Organize before changing your Default Upload folder. Please know that when backing up with Auto Organize off, all photos and videos will be uploaded to a single album until it's full. 


Also in Upload Settings: Turn Auto Backup on or off, choose to use Wi-Fi only when auto backing up photos and videos, and upload photos with location data if available.  

When viewing the Auto Backup screen, tap on images you wish to exclude from the backup and choose Remove From Queue.


You can exit the app after successfully completing your first auto backup. The next time you open Photobucket, any new photos and videos will automatically be uploaded.

Was this article helpful?
14 out of 14 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request